Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

PROTOMARTYER

Home Local Rock of the Arts top ten Madison albums 2011

Rock of the Arts top ten Madison albums 2011

One thing can be said for Madison's music scene in 2011. It was the emergence of the city as a bona fide lo-fi mecca. Maybe you had to have your ear to the ground of the indie music blogs, like we do, to see the numerous mentions of Madison artists like Peaking Lights, Julian Lynch, All Tiny Creatures, Dead Luke and Slow Loris across the country. Something is going on here. Can someone please tell the Madison Area Music Awards?


Madison is developing a reputation as a fertile ground for experimental creativity outside the rigid confines of what’s left of the established music industry. Basement/bedroom studios are the norm with no rules, schedules or forced commercial intentions to get in the way. A true breeding environment for pure, original, independent music.

After running this blog for over two years there’s one thing that we’ve come to know. Madisonians would rather have a local artist take risks, push boundaries and potentially fail than go with the status quo. The same irreverent vigor that fueled the capitol protests is present in the music scene here. Revolution not only works in politics, but encompasses the arts and music as well.

Pundits argue that Madison is too small and fragmented to have a viable music scene comparable to Austin, Texas. We disagree. The constant four-year replenishment cycle of new students at the UW guarantees that the Madison indie breeding ground never gets stale, always injecting new energy into an ageless scene. You want proof?

Our top ten local Madison albums of 2011:

#10 Nellie Wilson and the Hellbound Honeys - Taking the 'O' Out of Country  

 #09 Jeremiah Nelson - Drugs to Make You Sober

 #08 The Midwest Beat - Gone Not Lost

 #07 The Hussy  - Cement Tomb Mind Control

 #06 Icarus Himself - Career Culture

 
#05 Slow Loris - Routine Glow

 #04 Dead Luke - Meanwhile...In the Midwest


God of Nothing
 

 #03 All Tiny Creatures - Harbors 

 
An Iris

 #02 Julian Lynch –  Terra

 
 #01 Peaking Lights – 936

 

All The Sun That Shines by Peaking Lights

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Tarpaulin
w/ Fury Things
Dash Hounds
Mickey's Tavern
Fri, Feb. 12 (Free!)

Dianne Coffee
w/ Barbara Hans
Union South - The Sett
Sat, Feb. 13 (Free!)

Metric
w/ Joywave
Orpheum Theater
Sat, Feb. 13

PROF
w/ Mike Mictlan,
Mac Irv, Crashprez
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Feb. 13

Rayland Baxter
w/ Margaret Glaspy
The Frequency
Sat, Feb. 13
 
Chris Bathgate
w/ The Go Rounds,
Anna Vogelzang
The Frequency
Sun, Feb. 14
 
The Hussy
w/ Trampoline Team,
Proud Parents
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Feb. 17

El Ten Eleven
w/ Shallow
Majestic Theatre
Thu, Feb. 18

Futurebirds
w/ Blank Range
High Noon Saloon
Thu, Feb. 18

Brett Newski
w/ Tiny Riots
The Frequency
Fri, Feb. 19

LIZZO
w/ DJ Sopia Eris
feat. Cavanaugh
Majestic Theatre
Fri, Feb. 19

Cloud Cult
w/ BBGUN
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Feb 20 
 
Jukebox the Ghost
w/ The Family Crest
Majestic Theatre
Tues, Feb. 23

Twin Peaks
w/ Uh Bones,
The Rashita Joneses
The Frequency
Wed, Feb 24

Bongzilla
w/ Black Cobra,
Lo-Pan,
Against the Grain
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Feb 26 

Family and Friends
w/ The Wells Division
The Frequency
Fri, Feb 26

Dale Watson &
His Lone Stars
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 2

Damsel Trash
CD Release Party!
w/ Screamin' Cyn Cyn & The Pons, Skizzwhores
The Frequency
Sat, March 5

Basia Bulat
w/ The Weather Station
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 9

Tortoise
w/ Mind Over Mirrors
Majestic Theatre
Thu, March 10

Protomartyr
w/ Fire Retarded,
Luggage
The Frequency
Sun, March 13

Mount Moriah
w/ Elephant Micah
High Noon Saloon
Sun, March 20

CHON
w/ Polyphia,
Strawberry Girls
The Frequency
Wed, March 23

SIMO
w/ The Glorious Sons
High Noon Saloon
Thu, March 24

Cullen Omori
(ex Smith Westerns)
w/ Living Hour
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 25

Acid Mothers Temple
w/ Mounds, Moss Folk
The Frequency
Mon, March 28

The Lone Bellow
WI Union Theater
(Shannon Hall)
Wed, March 30

Yuck
w/ Big Thief
High Noon Saloon
Tue, April 5

LUCERO
w/ John Moreland
Majestic Theatre
Wed, April 6   

SunFlower Bean
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Wed, April 6

San Fermin
w/ Esme Patterson
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 6

Alex G & Porches
w/ Your Friend
Union South - The Sett
Thu, April 7 (Free!)

Deer Tick
(Acoustic Tour)
w/ Ryley Walker
Majestic Theatre
Fri, April 8
 
Made of Oak
(Nick Sanborn
of Sylvan Esso)
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 9

Wolf Alice
w/ Slaves (UK)
Majestic Theatre
Sun, April 10
 
Polica
w/ Mothxr
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 14
 
Bob Mould Band
w/ Fury Things
Majestic Theatre
Wed, April 20

Dengue Fever
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 20
 
Woods
w/ Ultimate Painting
High Noon Saloon
Mon, April 25

Frankie Cosmos
w/ Eskimeaux,
Yowler
High Noon Saloon
Tue, April 26

Charles Bradley
& his Extraordinaires
Majestic Theatre
Sat, April 30

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Twin Peaks

Lucero

Polica

The Smart Studios Story

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral