Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Ratatat

Home Local Rock of the Arts top ten Madison albums 2011

Rock of the Arts top ten Madison albums 2011

One thing can be said for Madison's music scene in 2011. It was the emergence of the city as a bona fide lo-fi mecca. Maybe you had to have your ear to the ground of the indie music blogs, like we do, to see the numerous mentions of Madison artists like Peaking Lights, Julian Lynch, All Tiny Creatures, Dead Luke and Slow Loris across the country. Something is going on here. Can someone please tell the Madison Area Music Awards?


Madison is developing a reputation as a fertile ground for experimental creativity outside the rigid confines of what’s left of the established music industry. Basement/bedroom studios are the norm with no rules, schedules or forced commercial intentions to get in the way. A true breeding environment for pure, original, independent music.

After running this blog for over two years there’s one thing that we’ve come to know. Madisonians would rather have a local artist take risks, push boundaries and potentially fail than go with the status quo. The same irreverent vigor that fueled the capitol protests is present in the music scene here. Revolution not only works in politics, but encompasses the arts and music as well.

Pundits argue that Madison is too small and fragmented to have a viable music scene comparable to Austin, Texas. We disagree. The constant four-year replenishment cycle of new students at the UW guarantees that the Madison indie breeding ground never gets stale, always injecting new energy into an ageless scene. You want proof?

Our top ten local Madison albums of 2011:

#10 Nellie Wilson and the Hellbound Honeys - Taking the 'O' Out of Country  

 #09 Jeremiah Nelson - Drugs to Make You Sober

 #08 The Midwest Beat - Gone Not Lost

 #07 The Hussy  - Cement Tomb Mind Control

 #06 Icarus Himself - Career Culture

 
#05 Slow Loris - Routine Glow

 #04 Dead Luke - Meanwhile...In the Midwest


God of Nothing
 

 #03 All Tiny Creatures - Harbors 

 
An Iris

 #02 Julian Lynch –  Terra

 
 #01 Peaking Lights – 936

 

All The Sun That Shines by Peaking Lights

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Earth w/ Holy Sons,
Droids Attack
The Frequency
Tues, Sept. 8

Eagles of Death Metal
w/ Jesika Von Rabbit
High Noon Saloon
Thu, Sept. 10 (sold-out)
 
Ratatat
w/ Hot Sugar
Orpheum Theater
Fri, Sept. 11

Thurston Moore Band
w/ Mikal Cronin,
The Cairo Gang
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Sept. 11

Field Report
w/ Solid Gold,
Anna Vogelzang,
Simon Balto
Edgewater Plaza
Fri, Sept. 11 (Free!)

Desaparecidos
(feat. Conor Oberst)
w/ Joyce Manor
Turner Hall (Milw)
Mon, Sept. 14
 
Yonatan Gat
w/ Lover's Spit
Minotaurs,
The Frequency
Thu, Sept. 17
 
Low w/ Andy Shauf
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Sept. 18

Live on King Street
feat. Benjamin Booker
w/ Hippo Campus and
The Hussy
Majestic Theatre (Outside)
Fri, Sept. 18 (Free!)
 
Father John Misty
w/ TBA
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Sept. 20
 
Wavves
w/ Twin Peaks,
Steep Leans
Majestic Theatre
Mon, Sept. 21

Beach House
w/ Jessica Pratt
Pabst Theaer (Milw)
Mon, Sept. 21

Noah Gunderson
w/ Ivan & Alyosha
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Sept. 23
 
Zola Jesus
Memorial Union
Shannon Hall
Thu, Sept. 24 (Free!)

Pure Bathing Culture
w/ Wild Ones
The Frequency
Thu, Sept. 24
 
Holly Miranda
w/ Gracie & Rachel
The Frequency
Fri, Sept. 25
 
Toro Y Moi
w/ Astronauts, etc.
Majestic Theater
Fri, Sept. 25

Shemekia Copeland
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Sept. 25
 
Heartless Bastards
w/ Alberta Cross
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Sept. 26

The Decemberists
w/ Olivia Chaney
Overture Hall
Wed, Sept. 30
 
Avett Brothers
w/ Brett Dennen
Nicole Atkins
Breeze Stevens Field
Fri, Oct. 2 (sold out!)

Dilinger Four
w/ Night Birds,
Tenement
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Oct. 4

Glass Animals
w/ Hinds
Orpheum Theatre
Tue, Oct. 6

PHOX
w/ MILO
Shitty Barn
Spring Green
Wed, Oct. 7

CASHMERE CAT
w/ Yacht Club,
Dense City
@ Liquid
Fri, Oct. 9

Titus Andronicus
w/ Spider Bags, Baked
The Frequency
Sat, Oct 10

Bully
w/ Heat
The Frequency
Sun, Oct 11

DIIV
w/ No Joy,
Sunflower Bean
Majestic Theatre
Tue, Oct 13

Teen Daze
w/ Heavenly Beat
The Frequency
Sat, Oct. 17
 
GARBAGE
w/ Torres
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Oct. 18
 
Youth Lagoon
w/ Moonk King
Turner Hall (Milw)
Tues, Oct. 20

Neon Indian
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 21

Grace Potter
w/ Rayland Baxter
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Oct. 24
 
Of Montreal
w/ Diane Coffee
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 25
 
Matisyahu
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Mon, Oct. 26
 
Wild Child
w/ Elliot Moss
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 28
 
Shannon & the Clams
w/ Shopping
The Frequency
Tue, Oct. 27
 
Telekinesis
w/ Say Hi
The Frequency
Thu, Oct. 29

PHOX
w/ Cougar
Capitol Theater
Sat, Nov. 7

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Bandcamp Pick!

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Russ Feingold

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral