Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Home Local Rock of the Arts top ten Madison albums 2011

Rock of the Arts top ten Madison albums 2011

One thing can be said for Madison's music scene in 2011. It was the emergence of the city as a bona fide lo-fi mecca. Maybe you had to have your ear to the ground of the indie music blogs, like we do, to see the numerous mentions of Madison artists like Peaking Lights, Julian Lynch, All Tiny Creatures, Dead Luke and Slow Loris across the country. Something is going on here. Can someone please tell the Madison Area Music Awards?

Madison is developing a reputation as a fertile ground for experimental creativity outside the rigid confines of what’s left of the established music industry. Basement/bedroom studios are the norm with no rules, schedules or forced commercial intentions to get in the way. A true breeding environment for pure, original, independent music.

After running this blog for over two years there’s one thing that we’ve come to know. Madisonians would rather have a local artist take risks, push boundaries and potentially fail than go with the status quo. The same irreverent vigor that fueled the capitol protests is present in the music scene here. Revolution not only works in politics, but encompasses the arts and music as well.

Pundits argue that Madison is too small and fragmented to have a viable music scene comparable to Austin, Texas. We disagree. The constant four-year replenishment cycle of new students at the UW guarantees that the Madison indie breeding ground never gets stale, always injecting new energy into an ageless scene. You want proof?

Our top ten local Madison albums of 2011:

#10 Nellie Wilson and the Hellbound Honeys - Taking the 'O' Out of Country  

 #09 Jeremiah Nelson - Drugs to Make You Sober

 #08 The Midwest Beat - Gone Not Lost

 #07 The Hussy  - Cement Tomb Mind Control

 #06 Icarus Himself - Career Culture

#05 Slow Loris - Routine Glow

 #04 Dead Luke - Meanwhile...In the Midwest

God of Nothing

 #03 All Tiny Creatures - Harbors 

An Iris

 #02 Julian Lynch –  Terra

 #01 Peaking Lights – 936


All The Sun That Shines by Peaking Lights


Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Dilinger Four
w/ Night Birds,
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Oct. 4

Chad Valley
w/ Stranger Cat,
Midas Bison
The Frequency
Sun, Oct. 4

Glass Animals
w/ Hinds
Orpheum Theatre
Tue, Oct. 6

Shitty Barn (Spring Green)
Wed, Oct. 7 (sold out!)

S (Jenn Ghetto)
w/ Fern Mayo,
The Frequency
Thurs,Oct. 8

Saint Motel
w/ The Greeting Committee
High Noon Saloon
Thurs, Oct. 8

w/ Yacht Club,
Dense City
@ Liquid
Fri, Oct. 9

Titus Andronicus
w/ Spider Bags, Baked
The Frequency
Sat, Oct 10 (sold out)

w/ Heavy Looks
Mickey's Tavern
Sat, Oct. 10 (Free!)

w/ Heat,
Fake Limbs
The Frequency
Sun, Oct 11

w/ Geographer
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 11

w/ No Joy,
Sunflower Bean
Majestic Theatre
Tue, Oct 13

w/ Trophy Dad
and TBA
The Sett-Union South
Wed, Oct. 14 (Free!)

Conor Oberst
w/ Larkin, Poe
& High Up
Barrymore Theatre
Fri, Oct. 16

Teen Daze
w/ Heavenly Beat,
Double Ewes
The Frequency
Sat, Oct. 17
w/ Torres
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Oct. 18
Youth Lagoon
w/ Moon King
Turner Hall (Milw)
Tues, Oct. 20

Neon Indian
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 21

Grace Potter
w/ Rayland Baxter
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Oct. 24
Of Montreal
w/ Diane Coffee
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 25

w/ Zebras,
Jon Mueller
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Oct. 25
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Mon, Oct. 26
Wild Child
w/ Elliot Moss
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 28
Shannon & the Clams
w/ Shopping
The Frequency
Tue, Oct. 27
w/ Say Hi,
Barbara Hans
The Frequency
Thu, Oct. 29

Dave Rawlings Machine
Capitol Theater
Fri, Oct. 30
Barrymore Theatre
Fri, Oct. 30

Mac DeMarco
w/ Alex Calder
& The Courtneys
Riverside Theater (Milw)
Fri, Nov. 6

w/ Cougar
Capitol Theater
Sat, Nov. 7

Drive-By Truckers
w/ Dexateens
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Nov. 15

w/ Car Seat Headrest
Trohpy Dad
The Frequency
Sat, Nov. 28

w/ Atlas Sound
Majestic Theatre
Tue, Dec. 15

Connect with us


Bandcamp Pick!

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Russ Feingold

Music News Round-up

Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral