Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Mesa Amplifiers available at Cascio Interstate Music
Home Local Madison’s Project Lodge seeks funds to grow Creative Class

Madison’s Project Lodge seeks funds to grow Creative Class

The Project Lodge

Arts and music incubator, The Project Lodge, has a Kickstarter fund raising campaign in progress to meet an $8,000 capital outlay goal for the non-profit DIY upstart. Known as a beacon for Madison's aspiring artists, musicians and all-around creative types, the Project Lodge has hosted a wide variety of events over the last four years in its East Johnson Street location.

We’ve seen many great indie shows in this space including Zola Jesus, Julian Lynch, Titus Andronicus and All Tiny Creatures among others. Many times bands that play the Project Lodge would've probably skipped Madison on their touring schedules if it weren’t for the existence of the venue.

A benefit show featuring local bands was held at the Majestic Theatre a week ago and a second fund raising event is taking place this Sunday at the High Noon Saloon. Check out the details below:

Headbang and "Ha Ha"
Benefit for The Project Lodge
Comedy Showcase
w/ Chris Lay & David Leon
Music by
Sinking Suns
The Faith Hills Have Eyes
Venus In Furs
Dharma Dogs
High Noon Saloon
Jan 29 (7:30pm) $6

Rock of the Arts made a $200 donation to the Kickstarter campaign because we feel the Project Lodge is an important ingredient in Madison’s vibrant DIY arts scene. Part of our bounty for donating is a copy of the forthcoming Project Lodge 2012 Music Compilation with help from Madison's Mine All Mine Records. The full compilation will be available Feb 21st at the end of the Kickstarter campaign, and it will feature 32 tracks by Madison bands clocking in at nearly 2 hours!

Physical CDs will only be available at benefit shows (Jan 21st and Jan 29th) and as a prize for donating to the Kickstarter. Here is a preview of the compilation. Keep the Project Lodge vibe alive in Madison! Please donate today!
 

Project Lodge 2012 Compilation CD Tracklist

1. Julian Lynch - Natalie Barney Scene
2. Man Mantis - Plexippus
3. All Tiny Creatures - Higgs Boston
4. Control - Feast and the Seven Days Following
5. Crane Your Swan Neck - Comeback (Tonight We Won't Die Alone)
6. The United Sons of Toil - Mimetic Contagion
7. Pioneer - Memorial Day
8. Tom Teslik - I Always Thought You Figured Why I'm Blue
9. Asumaya - Declining Market Share
10. el-tin fun - honey dipped with watermelon gum
11. Slow Loris - People You Meet
12. Chants - Halogen
13. Anna Vogelzang - Die Trying
14. Jealousy - Voodoo
15. Giant People - The Steve Irwin
16. Venus In Furs - Disco Is Dead
17. Sinking Suns - Vicious World (Live in Chicago)
18. The Weather Duo - Decadodeca
19. Pushmi-Pullyu - Little Hedgehog (electronic version)
20. Land of Vandals - Wild Fire
21. Leonard the Comet - I'm Actually Very Interested in One of Your Aquariums
22. Yoinkles Gibraltar - Sony Mao : Washington Monument
23. Fambly Fun! - The Machine
24. Diamondogs - Left Brain v. Right Brain
25. Benjamin Cameron - Besame Mucho
26. The Hussy - Plantman
27. Brain Grimmer - CornCobb Paul ('87-'11)
28. John Praw - Throw the Young One O'er
29. Jeremiah Nelson - Show To Show
30. Cribshitter - Sign My Cast (Sleeping in the Aviary)
31. Lovely Socialite Mrs. Thomas W. Phipps - Rock It, Science (alternate take)

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

THE RASHITA JONESES w/ Filter Free Rodeo, Bron Sage, Spaceship Parts
The Frequency
Fri, March 27, 9:00 PM

Tedeschi Trucks Band
w/ The Sharrows
Orpheum Theater
Sat, March 28

CYMBALS EAT GUITARS
w/ Split Single,
Julian Lynch
The Frequency
Mon, March 30

Bleachers
w/ Joywave,
Night Terrors of 1927
Majestic Theatre
Tue, March 31

Belle and Sebastian
w/ Honeyblood
Overture Hall
Sat, April 4

The Pines
w/ Hayward Williams
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 4

Ultimate Painting
w/ Heaters
The Frequency
Mon, April 6

Polica
w/ Pony Bwoy
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, April 7 (sold out!)

FOXYGEN
w/ Alex Cameron
The Sett - Union South
Fri, April 10 (Free!)

Joe Pug
w/ Field Report (solo)
High Noon Saloon
Fri, April 10

Reptar
w/ Icky Blossoms
The Frequency
Fri, April 10

Dolores
w/ Mutts,
Cowboy Winter
& Little Legend
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 11

Mr. Gnome
w/ Bron Sage
The Frequency
Sat, April 11

Twin Shadow
w/ Erik Hassle
Majestic Theatre
Tue, April 14

Kodak to Graph
w/ Big Wild,
Obeson
The Frequency
Wed, April 15

Chuck Prophet
& The Mission Express
w/ Nick Brown
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 15

Shana Falana (NYC), 
w/ Modern Mod,
Oh My Love
Mickey's tavern
Thu, April 16 (Free!)

The Soft Moon
w/ Noveller
The Frequency
Fri, April 17

PELE
w/ Golden Donna
Cactus Club (Milw)
Sat, April 18

Diarrhea Planet
w/ Lee Bains
& the Glory Fires,
Fire Retarded
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 22

Six Organs of
Admittance
w/ Elisa Ambrosia
The Frequency
Wed, April 22

Sufjan Stevens
w/ Little Scream
Riverside Theater
Thu, April 23

Hiss Golden Messenger
w/ Phil Cook (Megafaun)
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 23 

Max Jury
w/ SALES,
Bonzie
The Frequency
Thu, April 23 

JAMES MCMURTRY
w/ Max Gomez
High Noon Saloon
Friday, April 24

Lord Huron
w/ Leon Bridges
Pabst Theater
Sat, April 25

Caroline Smith
w/ Vic and Gab
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 25

Rhiannon Giddens
w/ Bhi Bhiman
Capitol Theater
Mon, April 27

Hurray For The
Riff Raff
w/ Daniel Romano
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 30

Speedy Ortiz
w/ Krill, 
Two Inch Astronaut
The Frequency
Fri, May 1

The Replacements
w/ TBA
Eagles Ballroom (Milw)
Sat, May 2

Revelry Fest
w/ Chance the Rapper,
The Chainsmokers,
Alunageorge, Mick Jenkins,
Nick Hakim + More!
Library Mall
Sat, May 2 

Death Cab for Cutie
w/ The Antlers
Riverside Theater
Mon, May 4

Vetiver
w/ Eric D. Johnson
The Frequency
Thu, May 7

Bop English
(from White Denim)
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Fri, May 8

Pianos Become The Teeth
w/ Loma Prieta,
Gates
Cactus Club (Milw)
Fri, May 8

Tame Impala
w/ Mini Mansions
Riverside Theater
Thu, May 14

Dan Deacon
w/ Prince Rama,
Ben O’Brien
High Noon Saloon
Fri, May 15

METZ and FIDLAR
High Noon Saloon
Sat, May 23

Surfer Blood
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Sun, May 24

ST. VINCENT
w/ Sarah Neufeld
of Arcade Fire
Orpheum Theater
Tue, May 26

Built to Spill
w/ Wooden Indian
Burial Ground
High Noon Saloon
Tue, May 26

Archie Powell
& The Exports
w/ Heavy Looks,
Little Legend
The Frequency
Fri, May 29
 
Royal Blood
w/ Mini Mansions
High Noon Saloon
Sun, May 31

Father John Misty
w/ TBA
Pabst Theater
Sun, May 31

CJ Ramone 
& Shonen Knife
w/ TBA
Cactus Club (Milw)
Tues, June 9

Kate Tempest
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Mon, Jun 15

Iceage
w/ Low Life
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Jun 21

Eaux Claires
Music & Arts Festival

feat. Bon Iver,
The National, Spoon, Sufjan Stevens
+ more
Foster Farms - Eau Claire
July 17 & 18

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Foxygen

Revelry

Mumford & Sons

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral