Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

PROTOMARTYER

Home Local Madison’s Project Lodge seeks funds to grow Creative Class

Madison’s Project Lodge seeks funds to grow Creative Class

The Project Lodge

Arts and music incubator, The Project Lodge, has a Kickstarter fund raising campaign in progress to meet an $8,000 capital outlay goal for the non-profit DIY upstart. Known as a beacon for Madison's aspiring artists, musicians and all-around creative types, the Project Lodge has hosted a wide variety of events over the last four years in its East Johnson Street location.

We’ve seen many great indie shows in this space including Zola Jesus, Julian Lynch, Titus Andronicus and All Tiny Creatures among others. Many times bands that play the Project Lodge would've probably skipped Madison on their touring schedules if it weren’t for the existence of the venue.

A benefit show featuring local bands was held at the Majestic Theatre a week ago and a second fund raising event is taking place this Sunday at the High Noon Saloon. Check out the details below:

Headbang and "Ha Ha"
Benefit for The Project Lodge
Comedy Showcase
w/ Chris Lay & David Leon
Music by
Sinking Suns
The Faith Hills Have Eyes
Venus In Furs
Dharma Dogs
High Noon Saloon
Jan 29 (7:30pm) $6

Rock of the Arts made a $200 donation to the Kickstarter campaign because we feel the Project Lodge is an important ingredient in Madison’s vibrant DIY arts scene. Part of our bounty for donating is a copy of the forthcoming Project Lodge 2012 Music Compilation with help from Madison's Mine All Mine Records. The full compilation will be available Feb 21st at the end of the Kickstarter campaign, and it will feature 32 tracks by Madison bands clocking in at nearly 2 hours!

Physical CDs will only be available at benefit shows (Jan 21st and Jan 29th) and as a prize for donating to the Kickstarter. Here is a preview of the compilation. Keep the Project Lodge vibe alive in Madison! Please donate today!
 

Project Lodge 2012 Compilation CD Tracklist

1. Julian Lynch - Natalie Barney Scene
2. Man Mantis - Plexippus
3. All Tiny Creatures - Higgs Boston
4. Control - Feast and the Seven Days Following
5. Crane Your Swan Neck - Comeback (Tonight We Won't Die Alone)
6. The United Sons of Toil - Mimetic Contagion
7. Pioneer - Memorial Day
8. Tom Teslik - I Always Thought You Figured Why I'm Blue
9. Asumaya - Declining Market Share
10. el-tin fun - honey dipped with watermelon gum
11. Slow Loris - People You Meet
12. Chants - Halogen
13. Anna Vogelzang - Die Trying
14. Jealousy - Voodoo
15. Giant People - The Steve Irwin
16. Venus In Furs - Disco Is Dead
17. Sinking Suns - Vicious World (Live in Chicago)
18. The Weather Duo - Decadodeca
19. Pushmi-Pullyu - Little Hedgehog (electronic version)
20. Land of Vandals - Wild Fire
21. Leonard the Comet - I'm Actually Very Interested in One of Your Aquariums
22. Yoinkles Gibraltar - Sony Mao : Washington Monument
23. Fambly Fun! - The Machine
24. Diamondogs - Left Brain v. Right Brain
25. Benjamin Cameron - Besame Mucho
26. The Hussy - Plantman
27. Brain Grimmer - CornCobb Paul ('87-'11)
28. John Praw - Throw the Young One O'er
29. Jeremiah Nelson - Show To Show
30. Cribshitter - Sign My Cast (Sleeping in the Aviary)
31. Lovely Socialite Mrs. Thomas W. Phipps - Rock It, Science (alternate take)

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Tarpaulin
w/ Fury Things
Dash Hounds
Mickey's Tavern
Fri, Feb. 12 (Free!)

Dianne Coffee
w/ Barbara Hans
Union South - The Sett
Sat, Feb. 13 (Free!)

Metric
w/ Joywave
Orpheum Theater
Sat, Feb. 13

PROF
w/ Mike Mictlan,
Mac Irv, Crashprez
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Feb. 13

Rayland Baxter
w/ Margaret Glaspy
The Frequency
Sat, Feb. 13
 
Chris Bathgate
w/ The Go Rounds,
Anna Vogelzang
The Frequency
Sun, Feb. 14
 
The Hussy
w/ Trampoline Team,
Proud Parents
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Feb. 17

El Ten Eleven
w/ Shallow
Majestic Theatre
Thu, Feb. 18

Futurebirds
w/ Blank Range
High Noon Saloon
Thu, Feb. 18

Brett Newski
w/ Tiny Riots
The Frequency
Fri, Feb. 19

LIZZO
w/ DJ Sopia Eris
feat. Cavanaugh
Majestic Theatre
Fri, Feb. 19

Cloud Cult
w/ BBGUN
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Feb 20 
 
Jukebox the Ghost
w/ The Family Crest
Majestic Theatre
Tues, Feb. 23

Twin Peaks
w/ Uh Bones,
The Rashita Joneses
The Frequency
Wed, Feb 24

Bongzilla
w/ Black Cobra,
Lo-Pan,
Against the Grain
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Feb 26 

Family and Friends
w/ The Wells Division
The Frequency
Fri, Feb 26

Dale Watson &
His Lone Stars
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 2

Damsel Trash
CD Release Party!
w/ Screamin' Cyn Cyn & The Pons, Skizzwhores
The Frequency
Sat, March 5

Basia Bulat
w/ The Weather Station
High Noon Saloon
Wed, March 9

Tortoise
w/ Mind Over Mirrors
Majestic Theatre
Thu, March 10

Protomartyr
w/ Fire Retarded,
Luggage
The Frequency
Sun, March 13

Mount Moriah
w/ Elephant Micah
High Noon Saloon
Sun, March 20

CHON
w/ Polyphia,
Strawberry Girls
The Frequency
Wed, March 23

SIMO
w/ The Glorious Sons
High Noon Saloon
Thu, March 24

Cullen Omori
(ex Smith Westerns)
w/ Living Hour
High Noon Saloon
Fri, March 25

Acid Mothers Temple
w/ Mounds, Moss Folk
The Frequency
Mon, March 28

The Lone Bellow
WI Union Theater
(Shannon Hall)
Wed, March 30

Yuck
w/ Big Thief
High Noon Saloon
Tue, April 5

LUCERO
w/ John Moreland
Majestic Theatre
Wed, April 6   

SunFlower Bean
w/ TBA
The Frequency
Wed, April 6

San Fermin
w/ Esme Patterson
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 6

Alex G & Porches
w/ Your Friend
Union South - The Sett
Thu, April 7 (Free!)

Deer Tick
(Acoustic Tour)
w/ Ryley Walker
Majestic Theatre
Fri, April 8
 
Made of Oak
(Nick Sanborn
of Sylvan Esso)
High Noon Saloon
Sat, April 9

Wolf Alice
w/ Slaves (UK)
Majestic Theatre
Sun, April 10
 
Polica
w/ Mothxr
High Noon Saloon
Thu, April 14
 
Bob Mould Band
w/ Fury Things
Majestic Theatre
Wed, April 20

Dengue Fever
High Noon Saloon
Wed, April 20
 
Woods
w/ Ultimate Painting
High Noon Saloon
Mon, April 25

Frankie Cosmos
w/ Eskimeaux,
Yowler
High Noon Saloon
Tue, April 26

Charles Bradley
& his Extraordinaires
Majestic Theatre
Sat, April 30

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Twin Peaks

Lucero

Polica

The Smart Studios Story

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral