Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Ratatat

Home Local Madison’s Project Lodge seeks funds to grow Creative Class

Madison’s Project Lodge seeks funds to grow Creative Class

The Project Lodge

Arts and music incubator, The Project Lodge, has a Kickstarter fund raising campaign in progress to meet an $8,000 capital outlay goal for the non-profit DIY upstart. Known as a beacon for Madison's aspiring artists, musicians and all-around creative types, the Project Lodge has hosted a wide variety of events over the last four years in its East Johnson Street location.

We’ve seen many great indie shows in this space including Zola Jesus, Julian Lynch, Titus Andronicus and All Tiny Creatures among others. Many times bands that play the Project Lodge would've probably skipped Madison on their touring schedules if it weren’t for the existence of the venue.

A benefit show featuring local bands was held at the Majestic Theatre a week ago and a second fund raising event is taking place this Sunday at the High Noon Saloon. Check out the details below:

Headbang and "Ha Ha"
Benefit for The Project Lodge
Comedy Showcase
w/ Chris Lay & David Leon
Music by
Sinking Suns
The Faith Hills Have Eyes
Venus In Furs
Dharma Dogs
High Noon Saloon
Jan 29 (7:30pm) $6

Rock of the Arts made a $200 donation to the Kickstarter campaign because we feel the Project Lodge is an important ingredient in Madison’s vibrant DIY arts scene. Part of our bounty for donating is a copy of the forthcoming Project Lodge 2012 Music Compilation with help from Madison's Mine All Mine Records. The full compilation will be available Feb 21st at the end of the Kickstarter campaign, and it will feature 32 tracks by Madison bands clocking in at nearly 2 hours!

Physical CDs will only be available at benefit shows (Jan 21st and Jan 29th) and as a prize for donating to the Kickstarter. Here is a preview of the compilation. Keep the Project Lodge vibe alive in Madison! Please donate today!
 

Project Lodge 2012 Compilation CD Tracklist

1. Julian Lynch - Natalie Barney Scene
2. Man Mantis - Plexippus
3. All Tiny Creatures - Higgs Boston
4. Control - Feast and the Seven Days Following
5. Crane Your Swan Neck - Comeback (Tonight We Won't Die Alone)
6. The United Sons of Toil - Mimetic Contagion
7. Pioneer - Memorial Day
8. Tom Teslik - I Always Thought You Figured Why I'm Blue
9. Asumaya - Declining Market Share
10. el-tin fun - honey dipped with watermelon gum
11. Slow Loris - People You Meet
12. Chants - Halogen
13. Anna Vogelzang - Die Trying
14. Jealousy - Voodoo
15. Giant People - The Steve Irwin
16. Venus In Furs - Disco Is Dead
17. Sinking Suns - Vicious World (Live in Chicago)
18. The Weather Duo - Decadodeca
19. Pushmi-Pullyu - Little Hedgehog (electronic version)
20. Land of Vandals - Wild Fire
21. Leonard the Comet - I'm Actually Very Interested in One of Your Aquariums
22. Yoinkles Gibraltar - Sony Mao : Washington Monument
23. Fambly Fun! - The Machine
24. Diamondogs - Left Brain v. Right Brain
25. Benjamin Cameron - Besame Mucho
26. The Hussy - Plantman
27. Brain Grimmer - CornCobb Paul ('87-'11)
28. John Praw - Throw the Young One O'er
29. Jeremiah Nelson - Show To Show
30. Cribshitter - Sign My Cast (Sleeping in the Aviary)
31. Lovely Socialite Mrs. Thomas W. Phipps - Rock It, Science (alternate take)

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Earth w/ Holy Sons,
Droids Attack
The Frequency
Tues, Sept. 8

Eagles of Death Metal
w/ Jesika Von Rabbit
High Noon Saloon
Thu, Sept. 10 (sold-out)
 
Ratatat
w/ Hot Sugar
Orpheum Theater
Fri, Sept. 11

Thurston Moore Band
w/ Mikal Cronin,
The Cairo Gang
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Sept. 11

Field Report
w/ Solid Gold,
Anna Vogelzang,
Simon Balto
Edgewater Plaza
Fri, Sept. 11 (Free!)

Desaparecidos
(feat. Conor Oberst)
w/ Joyce Manor
Turner Hall (Milw)
Mon, Sept. 14
 
Yonatan Gat
w/ Lover's Spit
Minotaurs,
The Frequency
Thu, Sept. 17
 
Low w/ Andy Shauf
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Sept. 18

Live on King Street
feat. Benjamin Booker
w/ Hippo Campus and
The Hussy
Majestic Theatre (Outside)
Fri, Sept. 18 (Free!)
 
Father John Misty
w/ TBA
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Sept. 20
 
Wavves
w/ Twin Peaks,
Steep Leans
Majestic Theatre
Mon, Sept. 21

Beach House
w/ Jessica Pratt
Pabst Theaer (Milw)
Mon, Sept. 21

Noah Gunderson
w/ Ivan & Alyosha
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Sept. 23
 
Zola Jesus
Memorial Union
Shannon Hall
Thu, Sept. 24 (Free!)

Pure Bathing Culture
w/ Wild Ones
The Frequency
Thu, Sept. 24
 
Holly Miranda
w/ Gracie & Rachel
The Frequency
Fri, Sept. 25
 
Toro Y Moi
w/ Astronauts, etc.
Majestic Theater
Fri, Sept. 25

Shemekia Copeland
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Sept. 25
 
Heartless Bastards
w/ Alberta Cross
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Sept. 26

The Decemberists
w/ Olivia Chaney
Overture Hall
Wed, Sept. 30
 
Avett Brothers
w/ Brett Dennen
Nicole Atkins
Breeze Stevens Field
Fri, Oct. 2 (sold out!)

Dilinger Four
w/ Night Birds,
Tenement
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Oct. 4

Glass Animals
w/ Hinds
Orpheum Theatre
Tue, Oct. 6

PHOX
w/ MILO
Shitty Barn
Spring Green
Wed, Oct. 7

CASHMERE CAT
w/ Yacht Club,
Dense City
@ Liquid
Fri, Oct. 9

Titus Andronicus
w/ Spider Bags, Baked
The Frequency
Sat, Oct 10

Bully
w/ Heat
The Frequency
Sun, Oct 11

DIIV
w/ No Joy,
Sunflower Bean
Majestic Theatre
Tue, Oct 13

Teen Daze
w/ Heavenly Beat
The Frequency
Sat, Oct. 17
 
GARBAGE
w/ Torres
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Oct. 18
 
Youth Lagoon
w/ Moonk King
Turner Hall (Milw)
Tues, Oct. 20

Neon Indian
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 21

Grace Potter
w/ Rayland Baxter
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Oct. 24
 
Of Montreal
w/ Diane Coffee
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 25
 
Matisyahu
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Mon, Oct. 26
 
Wild Child
w/ Elliot Moss
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 28
 
Shannon & the Clams
w/ Shopping
The Frequency
Tue, Oct. 27
 
Telekinesis
w/ Say Hi
The Frequency
Thu, Oct. 29

PHOX
w/ Cougar
Capitol Theater
Sat, Nov. 7

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Bandcamp Pick!

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Russ Feingold

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral