Rock of the Arts

... all indie, all the time

Ratatat

Home Local Zola Jesus Rising

Zola Jesus Rising

stridulumartworksmall1.jpg

Eclectic Madison Musician Releases New EP

It's not often that you get a chance to see Madison's hottest export, Zola Jesus, do a local show. The 20-year-old Nika Roza Danilova (aka Zola Jesus) has quite a buzz building around her new EP "Stridulum" due out March 9th on the New York-based Sacred Bones Label. The first track "Night" premiered on Pitchfork two weeks ago. Brooklyn Vegan likewise did a feature and listed tour dates including the Saturday night release party at The Project Lodge.

Besides studying French and Philosophy at the University of Wisconsin Madison, the operatic-trained singer has the uncanny ability to draw you into her dark atmospheric world of sound. We like Zola Jesus because she represents what Madison is all about; adventurous; a risk taker; not afraid to be different.

Zola Jesus - Night

To make Saturday night even more interesting, Julian Lynch and Sonmi will also be on the bill at The Project Lodge! Three of our favorite artists together on the same evening. We caught up with Nika as she finished a gig in Milan, Italy, performing at a private party for designer Angelos Frentzos, during Fashion Week!  

Tell us about the new EP Stridulum. How did the songs come together?  Was the recording approach different on this EP than your last album release?

The EP was a really rushed process. I had about only a month to conceptualize, write, and record everything, since we wanted it to be out before SXSW. I had to put a lot of faith in instinct and not over-think so much. But in the end I believe it worked for the best. It's really a very genuine, innate piece of work. My grandfather passed away while I was making this record so that also played a part in the feel of the songs.

What other artists play with you on the new EP?

No one but myself. My friend Alex DeGroot helped record my vocals, and mix the songs, but I created everything, as I do with all Zola Jesus songs.

How did the entire Milan gig happen? Did you play with anyone else at the show? That had to be an incredible experience!

I am in Milan right now actually. I got an email from my publicist saying a designer was interested in having me play at his event during Fashion Week. The performance was at a club called PLASTIC. I was the only performer. It was a very different vibe from my usual shows (I usually don't play at discotheques) but everyone was incredible and the crowd was so into it. It was fantastic.

We’ve been listening to your side project Nika and Rory. Any plans on releasing  the material via an album or EP?

For sure. We've had some offers but we're not ready to put anything out yet. We're still writing songs and perfecting the old ones and taking it slow. No rush!

Zola Jesus Tour Dates

March
06 - Madison, WI - Project Lodge (w/ Sonmi, Julian Lynch)
13 - Chicago, IL - Beat Kitchen (17+ w/ Beau Wanzer, Fielded)
17-21 - Austin, TX - SXSW (various performances throughout the week – more info to come soon!)
31 - Los Angeles, CA - Echo Curio

April
03 - Chicago, IL - Lincoln Hall (w/ Xiu Xiu, Tune Yards, Talk Normal)
09 - New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom (w/ Xiu Xiu, Tune Yards)
10 - Purchase, NY - Purchase College

zolajesus4.jpg

 

Rock of the Arts

Club Crawl

Earth w/ Holy Sons,
Droids Attack
The Frequency
Tues, Sept. 8

Eagles of Death Metal
w/ Jesika Von Rabbit
High Noon Saloon
Thu, Sept. 10 (sold-out)
 
Ratatat
w/ Hot Sugar
Orpheum Theater
Fri, Sept. 11

Thurston Moore Band
w/ Mikal Cronin,
The Cairo Gang
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Sept. 11

Field Report
w/ Solid Gold,
Anna Vogelzang,
Simon Balto
Edgewater Plaza
Fri, Sept. 11 (Free!)

Desaparecidos
(feat. Conor Oberst)
w/ Joyce Manor
Turner Hall (Milw)
Mon, Sept. 14
 
Yonatan Gat
w/ Lover's Spit
Minotaurs,
The Frequency
Thu, Sept. 17
 
Low w/ Andy Shauf
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Sept. 18

Live on King Street
feat. Benjamin Booker
w/ Hippo Campus and
The Hussy
Majestic Theatre (Outside)
Fri, Sept. 18 (Free!)
 
Father John Misty
w/ TBA
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Sept. 20
 
Wavves
w/ Twin Peaks,
Steep Leans
Majestic Theatre
Mon, Sept. 21

Beach House
w/ Jessica Pratt
Pabst Theaer (Milw)
Mon, Sept. 21

Noah Gunderson
w/ Ivan & Alyosha
High Noon Saloon
Wed, Sept. 23
 
Zola Jesus
Memorial Union
Shannon Hall
Thu, Sept. 24 (Free!)

Pure Bathing Culture
w/ Wild Ones
The Frequency
Thu, Sept. 24
 
Holly Miranda
w/ Gracie & Rachel
The Frequency
Fri, Sept. 25
 
Toro Y Moi
w/ Astronauts, etc.
Majestic Theater
Fri, Sept. 25

Shemekia Copeland
w/ TBA
High Noon Saloon
Fri, Sept. 25
 
Heartless Bastards
w/ Alberta Cross
Majestic Theatre
Sat, Sept. 26

The Decemberists
w/ Olivia Chaney
Overture Hall
Wed, Sept. 30
 
Avett Brothers
w/ Brett Dennen
Nicole Atkins
Breeze Stevens Field
Fri, Oct. 2 (sold out!)

Dilinger Four
w/ Night Birds,
Tenement
High Noon Saloon
Sun, Oct. 4

Glass Animals
w/ Hinds
Orpheum Theatre
Tue, Oct. 6

PHOX
w/ MILO
Shitty Barn
Spring Green
Wed, Oct. 7

CASHMERE CAT
w/ Yacht Club,
Dense City
@ Liquid
Fri, Oct. 9

Titus Andronicus
w/ Spider Bags, Baked
The Frequency
Sat, Oct 10

Bully
w/ Heat
The Frequency
Sun, Oct 11

DIIV
w/ No Joy,
Sunflower Bean
Majestic Theatre
Tue, Oct 13

Teen Daze
w/ Heavenly Beat
The Frequency
Sat, Oct. 17
 
GARBAGE
w/ Torres
Orpheum Theater
Sun, Oct. 18
 
Youth Lagoon
w/ Moonk King
Turner Hall (Milw)
Tues, Oct. 20

Neon Indian
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 21

Grace Potter
w/ Rayland Baxter
Barrymore Theatre
Sat, Oct. 24
 
Of Montreal
w/ Diane Coffee
Majestic Theatre
Sun, Oct. 25
 
Matisyahu
w/ TBA
Majestic Theatre
Mon, Oct. 26
 
Wild Child
w/ Elliot Moss
Majestic Theatre
Wed, Oct. 28
 
Shannon & the Clams
w/ Shopping
The Frequency
Tue, Oct. 27
 
Telekinesis
w/ Say Hi
The Frequency
Thu, Oct. 29

PHOX
w/ Cougar
Capitol Theater
Sat, Nov. 7

Connect with us

 twitterFacebookYouTubeInstagrampinterest

Bandcamp Pick!

Sound Board

     Launch Indie Music Player Pop-Up

Russ Feingold

Music News Round-up

Merlyns
Alex Chilton
O'Cayz Corral